Select the domains to use

DITA has a number of "standard" domains, such as the programming domain, the user interface domain, the software domain, and so on. Each of these domains includes a set of elements that are usually used inline--that is, they mark up specific words or phrases within a block of text. (There are some domain elements that are block elements in their own right.) You might not need all of the standard domains. For example, if you are not documenting a computer application, you might not need the user interface or software domains. If you want to prevent authors from using formatting markup with no semantic significance, such as bold (<b>) or italics (<i>), then you don't want to use the highlighting domain.

For these steps, we'll remove the highlighting domain.

  1. Check out and open CustomerDitabase.dtd.
  2. Find the Domain Entity Declarations section.

    This section includes entities that correspond to each of the standard DITA domains.

  3. Comment out each entity that corresponds to a domain you do not want to be available to authors.

    For example, to prevent authors from using the highlighting domain elements, comment out this section:

    <!ENTITY % hi-d-dec     
      PUBLIC "-//OASIS//ENTITIES DITA 1.2 Highlight Domain//EN" 
  4. Find the Domains Extension section.
  5. Remove all references to the domain you are not using.

    For this example, remove the one reference to the highlighting domain (hi-d-ph):

    <!ENTITY % ph           "ph | 
                             %hi-d-ph; | 
                             %pr-d-ph; | 
                             %sw-d-ph; | 
  6. Find the Domains Attribute Override section.
  7. Delete &hi-d-att; from the list.
  8. Find the Domain Element Integration section.
  9. Comment out the following section:
    <!ENTITY % hi-d-def     
      PUBLIC "-//OASIS//ELEMENTS DITA 1.2 Highlight Domain//EN" 
  10. Save, close and check in CustomerDitabase.dtd.