Delete a document object
The Delete command removes objects from the active area of the repository.
- The file must be unlocked.
- The file cannot be referenced by another active map or topic.
Tip: Use the Dependencies view to locate references to a file.
DITA CMS maintains the files you are working on in the active area of the repository. Over time, you may want to eliminate unnecessary maps, topics and images--for example, multiple topics of the same name, some of which are outdated or contain inaccuracies. The delete function lets you eliminate such files from the active area, without erasing them altogether.
The Delete function is available from all DITA CMS views with the exception of the DITA Map view.
- Perform a search to locate the document object you want to delete.
Right-click the file and select Delete from the
The Delete dialog appears:Figure 1. Confirming a deletion
The file is deleted from the active area of the repository.Note: Accidentally deleted files may be recovered with the Restore function.Note: If you get a Cannot Delete window, see Troubleshooting unresolved cross-references.