Delete labels and categories

You can delete individual labels or an entire category and all the labels that it contains. If you delete all the labels within a category, then the category is also deleted automatically.

When you delete a label from the Configure Labels dialog, it is not removed from documents. You can, however, simultaneously delete labels and remove them from the Assign Labels dialog.

If you delete labels without removing them from documents, then the next time you select these documents when you are assigning labels, you'll see a category called "Undefined Labels" at the bottom of the Assign Labels dialog. You can remove the labels from the documents at this time.

  1. On the DITA CMS toolbar, click the Configure Labels button (Manage labels button).
    Tip: You can also configure labels and categories on the fly, when you're assigning labels to documents using the Assign Labels right-click menu option.
    The Configure Labels dialog appears.
  2. Right-click the label or category that you want to eliminate and select the appropriate action:
    • Delete Category
    • Delete Label
    The selected label or the category together with all its labels will disappear from the Configure Labels dialog.
  3. Click OK.
Your changes are saved and will be visible the next time you assign labels.