Replace with server revision

This procedure removes the lock on topics, images, a map or a sub-tree of topics. Local work is not saved.

Replacing a file with the server version removes the lock on the file and replaces your local copy with the last saved version in the repository. Modifications made locally since the file was locked are not saved.

This procedure is also available for maps and sub-trees. In this case, it's called Replace sub-tree with server revision. The Replace sub-tree with server revision option only appears in the DITA Map view.

The Replace with server revision function is available from all DITA CMS views.

  1. Right-click the file and select History > Replace with server version (or Sub-tree > Replace sub-tree with server revision if applicable) from the menu.
    Tip: You can select several files by holding down CTRL or SHIFT and clicking the files.
    The Confirmation dialog tells you that replacing the file will undo all local modifications.
  2. Click Yes.
    If you are reverting a sub-tree, a Progress Information dialog will appear.
The file is replaced and its name will be displayed in black text in the view where you locked it.